Head of State : President Thein Sein
Capital : Nay Pyi Taw
Language : Myanmar
Currency : Kyat
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Myanmar Website:

The EU does not yet have a full fledged Embassy in Myanmar, but an office was established earlier this year. The Office of the European Union in Myanmar was inaugurated on 28 April 2012, by Lady Catherine Ashton, High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, in the presence of Daw Aung San Suu Kyi and the Chief Minister of Yangon Region, U Myint Swe.  In her opening remarks Lady Ashton stressed that the EU Office demonstrated the commitment of the European Union to accompanying Myanmar on its journey of reform. The EU Office in Yangon, Myanmar, is the diplomatic presence of the EU. It falls under the oversight of the EU Delegation in Bangkok. The European Union maintains a network of over 130 diplomatic missions around the world. They are called EU Delegations (not: Embassies).

It promotes relations between Myanmar and the EU, by maintaining contacts with Government and the administration, and with political and economic actors in Myanmar,It increases awareness about the EU, its institutions, programmes and policies, among interested parties in Myanmar,It oversees the implementation of the EU's extensive assistance programme in Myanmar.



 bnp paribas platinum member website

Gold Members